Skin Deep

I’ve suffered with Psoriasis for a long time and so I’ve always been on the look out for products that would be gentle and effective. Skin condition aside I do tend to struggle with real combination skin, the classic oily t-zone and dry in other areas which can be a bit of a nightmare.

Oily skin can be a nightmare for makeup application and I always use a primer to prevent shine as much as possible. This The Ordinary primer is fab for keeping my makeup put and again great for sensitive skin even when I’ve had flare ups on my face it’s never exasperated the problem.

Some skincare favourites

I discovered the Alex Steinherr range at Primark and have really enjoyed the products which are well priced and effective especially the Micellar cleansing gel from the Maximum Moisture range. It’s basically a version of micellar water but in a gel form which is perfect for when my skin is feeling on the dry side.

One of my favourite shower gels is this Westlab Himalayan Salt wash. It’s not as foamy as other gels but it does cleanse nicely and it doesn’t dry my skin out when it’s flared up with psoriasis- bonus it’s only £2.99!

Aveeno and Oilatum are lifesavers when itchy!

My final skincare saviours are Aveeno and Oilatum. I actually use the Aveeno Dermexa Wash in the bath as I find it really effective to soak in. It sits really nicely on the skin and is gentle to sore patches of Psoriasis, the texture is almost like a yoghurt and it has a lovely smell of oats which is the key ingredient in this range to help with itching. It’s not for everyone but it definitely helps me.

Oilatum has been around for a while now and is one of the few liquid paraffin treatments that works well for me in the bath. A good 20 min soak in a warm bath works wonders on making me feel a bit better when I’m having a psoriasis flare, combined with some emoilents like Doublebase it gets me back on track and ready to face the day again!

A mix of favourites to hydrate and revitalise

Having a good set of basics to get you on track is so important, I tend to mix my skincare up depending on whether my psoriasis is flared or not. There’s no point in applying makeup to unprepared skin so I use products which will help with moisture when needed or primers to help with colour correction- this Rimmel CC Primer in Peach was a great find as it works well with my skin tone and texture but helps reduce redness.

I’d love to hear about any skincare favourites you have !

One thought on “Skin Deep

Leave a comment